Things I’ve Learned Through Blogging

The blogging community in the form of the body positive and fat acceptance movement changed my life – that deserves a whole post in its own right – so this post will focus on things I’ve learned specifically since I started this blog, often thanks to the people I’ve met a long the way.

I’ll start with the only negative thing that I’ve learned so that we can finish on a high – competitive women often forget that another woman’s victory is not their failure. Quote stolen from Beyond Before & After.

What I mean by that is that this community has the potential to support and lift each and every member however that’s not always what happens as it’s become hyper-competitive. Not a day goes by where there’s not some kind of drama or aggro on Twitter and it can often feel almost hostile. I’m lucky in that a couple of larger bloggers have really supported and encouraged me from the start and I have a few people who I can DM when I’m feeling disheartened but I know that others are not so lucky.

That aside, blogging has enhanced my life in so many ways and I’ve learned a lot. I’ve learned that I’m not alone in my views. Aberdeen is a small city and it’s really hard to meet people here. There are very few events and I’ve spoken before about the fact that most of my colleagues are significantly older than me with kids etc and have very different views to me. Through blogging I have met people who I hope will be friends for life and even though they live a long way away it’s good to be able to share ideas. It turns out that I’m not the only one who rages at body shaming fitness marketing or the fact that other young women don’t vote. And there is strength in numbers.

At 25 years old I thought I knew all there was to know about periods. I was wrong. Through blogging I have learnt so much about my own body and the different menstrual protection options out there. Since going cruelty free I’ve become so aware of the companies that distribute mainstream pads and tampons but through blogging and in particular Eco Fluffy Mama, I have learned that there are alternatives. I have since switched to a menstrual cup and I am about to try cloth pads and already know that I won’t look back.

Most recently blogging taught me to believe in my abilities more. I’ve always loved to write, mostly for myself but occasionally for other people yet I never believed I was that great. I once missed out on a job I really wanted and the reason they gave was my writing. Maybe it just wasn’t their style or it didn’t suit their business, but it really knocked my confidence. This month I have received so many compliments on my writing, including today when I received a lovely message praising me for the fact that despite posting every day I have kept the quality high.

Have you learned anything through reading blogs or writing on yourself? Let me know in the comments.

V ❤

Email : Twitter : Instagram : Bloglovin’

3 thoughts on “Things I’ve Learned Through Blogging

  1. Rebecca Claire says:

    There has been so much negativity about the blogging world recently and it’s refreshing to see a nice positive one. I definitely feel tons more positive about blogging since starting our little groups on twitter and instagram… plus the fact that me and Char are coming up to meet you! 🙂

    Rebecca, libfemblog.com xo

    Like

  2. Charlotte Gransden says:

    I am totally in agreement. I started my blog as a way to overcome my anxiety and meet new people and in time it has grown into this fab little space on the internet where I can share things and get advice from others. PLUS I have made some amazing friedns along the way!

    Like

  3. hannahinternational says:

    I know the negativity is out there, but I see none of it. I’m pleased to be surrounded by a lovely bunch of bloggers . Of course, this doesn’t mean that it doesn’t happen, and I think it’s all a load of nonsense. For a community who likes to big up its supportive ideals, there sure are a boatload who like to bring others down. It’s sad, really.
    On another note, I too have made so many lovely friends and branched out in terms of friendships, activities and creativity. I’ve done things I never would have done without blogging, and I’d had some really cool experiences because of it!

    Hannah
    hannahinternational.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

