Mooncup – First Impressions

I’d promised some period positive content in May then my period was 12 days late so my motivation to cover that topic was low however on Friday it finally arrived so I have had a couple of days to trial my Mooncup. Please note that if you are not comfortable with discussion of periods/vaginas/bodily functions this post is not for you and you should stop reading now.

I’ve been talking on social media a bit lately about wanting to find a more environmentally friendly and cruelty free alternative to the pads and tampons you buy on the high street that are normally distributed by Proctor & Gamble or Johnson Johnson and the like; Huge multinationals who are complicit in animal testing. These products are also full of harmful chemicals that are bad for your body and bad for the planet.

First off I looked in to organic, biodegradable tampons as a sort of middle ground for the time being but I soon realised that if I was going to switch over to a menstrual cup I might as well just do it. That’s not to say I didn’t have my hesitations and doubts. I was pretty apprehensive about it so I thought I would share my experience.

We’ve all heard the stories of the cup getting stuck and people showing up at A&E absoultely mortified and I won’t lie, the first time I removed it was terrifying BUT so far I think it’s the best sanitary product I’ve ever used. My first full day of using it I did spend it at home so if there was any kind of emergency I could deal with it without an issue but it was all smooth sailing.

As per the instructions on the box, as an under 30-year-old with no children I got the cup in size B. I was nervous about inserting it – and it was a bit uncomfortable at first – but as soon as it was in place I didn’t feel it at all, just like a tampon. Your muscles naturally clench around it and keep it in place plus the cup itself forms a vacuum so you don’t have to worry about embarrassing leaks. That was another concern of mine prior to trying it. I once read about a woman who sneezed and her cup spilled BUT she must not have had it in correctly.

The biggest pro for me so far, and it is an overshare but you were warned, is that I feel totally normal even though I’m on my period. No uncomfortable dryness from tampons or rash from pads, also no weird cramps that I get with a tampon like my body is trying to push it out. My body feels quite happy to have the cup in place. Tomorrow I will be using it at the gym for the first time and it’s so snug and comfy in there I have no concerns that it’s going to fall out or that I’ll feel it when moving around.

The period I am experiencing now is abnormal for me. I haven’t had the same PMS symptoms, I’m not overly crampy, it’s lighter than normal and just generally feels different so perhaps it’s not a true test of the cup however so far so good and I would really recommend giving one a go if you’ve been considering it. If it works for you it will save you so much money in the long run and also help to reduce the amount of waste you produce.

What are your thoughts on menstrual cups? Leave a comment and let me know.

V ❤

Image is taken from Mooncup.co.uk. This is not a sponsored post – simply me sharing my experience.

Email : Twitter : Instagram : Bloglovin’

11 thoughts on “Mooncup – First Impressions

  1. Charlotte says:

    I really home hat I can start getting on with my mooncup, I know I told you privately my vagina see,s to want to push it out, b this is something I’m goi to see the gynae about because it’s all of a sudden but I have been holding off writing this on my blog because I really don’t want to put others off using it!

    Like

    • sirvikalot says:

      I understand the reluctance to share on the blog but once you’ve seen the doc and know what’s going on maybe your experience could help others?! The cup isn’t for everyone but there’s always the option of reusable pads etc.

      V ❤

      Like

  2. Rebecca Claire says:

    I have been wanting to try one for ages but always been too scared about leaks or not being able to put it in/take it out properly. I’m currently an ambassador for Your Happy Period so I have six months of free organic tampons that get delivered each month so I’ll probably wait until they’ve been used up to try a cup but your post has definitely made me feel a lot more confident in the idea of it!

    Rebecca, libfemblog.com xo

    Like

  3. Giana says:

    I am intrigued by them but always thought they looked a little fussy! I don’t get periods anymore because of the implanon but I do see them as a good alternative to tampons x

    Like

  4. Hannah says:

    This is a brilliant review – we have real difficulty supplying these products through The Crimson Wave because of how relatively unknown there usage is.

    Would you mind if I lifted some passages from this to print out for our next event? I’d be happy to give full credit.

    xx

    Like

  5. Sarah Athow-Frost says:

    Great article! I’ve been wanting to know a bit more about Mooncups for a while. They seem like a great idea to me. I do think the sizing thing is confusing though and that really puts me off. It’s not like I can get a refund if I pick the wrong one! That’s what’s stopping me really but other than that I think they’re an amazing idea! X

    Like

  6. Sarah Athow-Frost says:

    Great article! I’ve been wanting to know a bit more about Mooncups for a while. They seem like a great idea to me. I do think the sizing thing is confusing though and that really puts me off. It’s not like I can get a refund if I pick the wrong one! That’s what’s stopping me really but other than that I think they’re an amazing idea!

    Like

  7. hannahinternational says:

    I’m interested but I don’t understand exactly how to use it, especially if I’m in public. Do you run to the sink and empty it? What if there are other people there? I don’t really want them to see me washing out my cup and then running back into a stall to reinsert. Or can you leave it in longer than a pad/tampon? Or do you just empty it down the toilet and reinsert straight away? (I know I shouldn’t care, but it’s one thing someone hearing you unwrapping a fresh tampon and another thing them seeing you wash your blood down the sink, haha!)
    I do like the fact that it generates no waste, which is something I’d be interested in once I start having periods again. Like Giana, I have the implant which has stopped my periods right now!

    Hannah
    hannahinternational.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

