What Recovery Means To Me

I’ve written on the blog before about disordered eating and the impact that it has had on my life and the lives of others. Rather than dwelling on the struggles of being ill and the ongoing issues that it causes, I’ll cover that on a future post, instead this will focus on celebrating the positives of recovery. Recently I’ve been thinking about just how far I’ve come and here are some of the ways that life is so much easier in recovery.

I can eat what I want when I want. It sounds like a really simple thing but it’s incredible to not restrict and to buy whatever food I fancy and not worry that if I have certain things in the house I’ll “binge”.

Being able to go out and enjoy myself with friends on the spur of the moment without having to research where we’re going, what I can eat and how many workouts I would have to fit in to “make up for it”.

I actually enjoy my workouts. I no longer force myself when I’m not in the mood and listen to my body and mind.

My physical health has improved. Often people assume that if you lose weight you are healthier. Not the case. I obsessively ate “healthily” and as a result ended up exacerbating my previously very minor IBS. Since I recovered that has completely cleared up.

My mental health and body image have improved beyond belief. Being thinner will not repair your body image but learning to love yourself and working on how you talk about and see your body will.

If you’re struggling with body image you can always send me a message.

V ā¤

7 thoughts on “What Recovery Means To Me

    • sirvikalot says:

      Thank you. šŸ’œ
      There will be a post going up about the things I still struggle with because balance is important but things are certainly much better.
      V ā¤

      Like

    • sirvikalot says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment.
      I wouldn’t say I live a healthy lifestyle in the conventional sense but it’s all about finding what’s good for you.

      V ā¤

      Like

  1. hannahinternational says:

    I’ve never had any sort of eating disorder, so reading this really enabled me to imagine the daily torment you went through. It makes me so pleased to hear that you’re doing better, and especially happy to hear that you’re eating what you want! ā¤

    Hannah
    hannahinternational.co.uk

    Like

  2. Sarah Athow-Frost says:

    Wow, you have had an amazing journey. I really respect you for somehow managing to come out the other side. It’s not so much the good, It’s the negative thought processes, and managing to free yourself of those take a lot of hard work and courage. Well done for all your determination and I wish you all the success for your continued journey.

    Like

  3. Hannah says:

    V – the more of your writing I read, the more inspired I am by you. It seems as though we’ve had a lot of the same issues and I can’t tell you how thank ful I am to read your posts and know I’m not alone.

    Well done on all of your progress and achievements tackling this. I’m so happy for you. These may sound like small things to someone who hasn’t suffered from an ED but eating whatever you want, whenever you want is such an amazing sign of your success! there’s so much more I want to say, but I’m not as far along my journey as you.

    I’m just truly so grateful to get a window onto your world and how you deal with these things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

