Am I Problematic As A Body Positive Activist?

In a previous post I touched on the issues within the body positive community at the moment where larger people/people of colour/disabled people feel as though slim white women have hijacked the fat acceptance movement, re-termed it as body positivity and at best have used it to improve their relationship with their own body (great and postive and lovely) but at worst have used it as a marketing tool to perpetrate diet culture and commandeered all the tags to the detriment of the people who’s movement it always was.

I take that on board. I define as fat/chubby and I’m definitely not slim, I have some physical and mental health issues, I’m queer and truly believe that I have a place within the movement. HOWEVER I acknowledge I have white privilege, I have thin privilege, cis privilege and have certain privileges in relation to my physical health.

So I started working through the list of things that make body positive activists problematic and asking myself the questions because I am certainly sticking around in this community and I want to make sure I’m doing it right.

Are you intersectional? I’m here for people of all shapes, sizes, colours, sexualities, genders, religions, health status etc etc so I’m good there.

Do you have conditions on your view of a good/worth body? I don’t preach the “as long as your healthy” mantra. I know that everyone deserves to be happy and comfortable in their skin regardless of their health/size. I’ve got that one covered.

Before posting about certain things like coping strategies etc I consult with disabled people and larger people to check that there is at least something on those lists that everyone could do. I’m thinking at this point that I’ve got this down and I’m feeling pretty proud of myself.

Do you shop in places that don’t stock plus sizes? THERE IT IS! My stumbling block. As an inbetweenie this is something that day to day I don’t have to think about. As long as it’s not shops with ridiculously small sizes like Zara or something I can pretty much shop everywhere. I don’t go out of my way to shop in places that don’t carry plus sizes but equally I don’t always check. In Aberdeen, if you are over a size 22 there are very few places that you can actually shop so I don’t think I’m prepared to restrict myself in that way. I know that makes me problematic but we’re all problematic in some way.

2 thoughts on “Am I Problematic As A Body Positive Activist?

  1. altspeaking says:

    I feel like there is always something we can stop and reassess with any efforts we put forward – it doesn’t matter how well you are doing, you can always move forward, improve and do better. The fact you see the ways you could reconsider in your lifestyle is, in and of itself, a huge step that so many miss!

    Britt | http://alternativelyspeaking.ca/

    Like

  2. hannahinternational says:

    I like your last point about how we’re all problematic in some way. I’m against animal abuse, yet a still eat meat despite knowing what goes on in parts of the meat production industry. I’m against the ridiculous education system over here, yet it’s the very thing I’m against that gives me a job.
    Sometimes it’s hard to change your lifestyle to fit your beliefs. But I believe that as long as you acknowledge that privilege that you are taking advantage of, it’s at least a step in the right direction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

