My 6 Step Summer Body Guide

With summer just around the corner it’s time for us all to get ourselves ready to bare some skin. Here’s how.

Step 1 – Have a body. (I know, that one has been done to death but I promise the rest is actual useful advice.)

Step 2 – Stock up on sun screen and insect repellent. It’s important to protect your exposed skin against the sun all year round but in summer, theoretically at least, it’ll be warmer and you will require more of it.

Step 3 – Buy summer clothes. What these consist of will depend on the climate you live in. In Scotland, for me, it tends to be t-shirts/crop tops, light cardigans, skirts and light dresses. The clothes I buy will fit the body I have right now, or maybe slightly bigger to allow for air circulation when it’s warm. Shopping should be a nice experience, treating yourself to things you feel comfortable in rather an opportunity to put pressure on yourself to try and be smaller.

Step 4 – If you want to remove body hair then you fire in but remember you are not obligated to. It’s natural and healthy to have hair on your body.

Step 5 – Sample ice cream flavours to choose your favourite for summer – Well you’ve got to be prepared to know what you’re going to want to stock up on.

Step 6 – Wait for the nice weather to arrive – I think summer was on a Wednesday in July when I had the flu last year. Hopefully I’ll get luckier this year.

V ❤

intro pic

A huge thank you to Britt Whyatt for letting me use her lovely photo as the header because stock photo websites don’t believe that plus size women ever look happy in swimwear.

You can find her in the following places:

Instagram – Twitter – Blog

 

12 thoughts on “My 6 Step Summer Body Guide

  1. Rebecca Claire says:

    Haha yes I love this post!!! Proper made me laugh out loud that last part about summer being on a Wednesday in July! But yes a million times to already having a beach ready body. And your friend looks slammin in the bikini.

    Rebecca, libfemblog.com xo

    Like

  2. hannahinternational says:

    I love this! Trying hard to appreciate my body the way it is in its summer-ready state, but it can sometimes be a little difficult here in Korea. Summer has been sprung upon us very quickly so I’m still wandering around in my winter clothes. I’m hoping to find some fab summer clothes soon and start to feel a little less like a sweating block of lard, and more like a beautiful summer-fine voluptuous lady!

    Hannah
    HannahInternational.co.uk

    Like

    • sirvikalot says:

      Yay summer clothes shopping is the best.
      Haha I hear you on being a sweating block of lard. My office is always far too hot and I’m always so sweaty. We are definitely summer fine nonetheless.
      V ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Elle Robson says:

    I love this!! The summer months are always hard for me because I’m so conscious since putting on weight but this has really made me smile. Stock photos not having plus size pics doesn’t surprise me, which it should do considering there is nothing wrong with plus size xx

    Like

    • sirvikalot says:

      Elle, I promise you’re beautiful no matter what you weigh. It’s so hard to relearn that when we are conditioned to think badly of ourselves but I promise you are fierce. ❤
      Erasure of fat women is a HUGE issue that I will write about at some point.
      V ❤

      Like

  4. Hannah says:

    What an awesome way to do a summer body post! I love it – and j don’t even care that number one has been done to death. It needs saying, and then saying again and once more for clarity!

    Also, can not stress enough how important sunscreen/cream is. Kudos for putting this so high up on the list – so many people forget to protect their skin when tanning!

    Andddddd like I even need to THINK about my favourite ice cream flavour, but I’m glad it’s on the list. Ice cream + sunshine = heaven.

    Lots of love, Hannah

    Like

    • sirvikalot says:

      I’m glad you liked the post Hannah. People seem to think you only need to protect your skin from the sun if it’s “hot” and the UK is never hot enough for it be an issue. *smh*
      V ❤

      Like

  5. Sarah says:

    Love the tip about sampling ice cream flavours- that’s top of my list as well, you need to have the right priorities about summer! That said, I can’t stand having body hair. Just personal preference but I like to be smooth like a dolphin 😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

