My Favourite Books & Films of 2016

As 2016 comes to a close here’s a round-up of some of my favourites for the year. The films featured were released in 2016, the books were not.

Films

Ghostbusters – The new Ghostbusters film was everything. Feminists everywhere rejoiced, finally a film where the leading roles were women who weren’t scantily clad and out to snare a man. I was never a Ghostbusters fan so I had my reservations but I loved this film. It was goofy and silly but sent a strong message that women can take the lead and the majority of screen time in a film and is still rocks.

The Jungle Book – I saw this film with my friend Kirsty in Cardiff and her excitment rubbed off on me. I don’t remember ever seeing the animated version but the 2016 remake blew me away. It is beautifully made, has it’s laugh out loud moments and the musical numbers have you singing along. A perfect feel good movie for a terrible year.

10 Cloverfield Lane – This is one of the most intriguing films I’ve ever watched – you keep thinking that you’ve figured out what’s going on and then – plot twist. It’s not scary as such but certainly gripping and jumpy at points. If you’ve not seen it I would definitely recommend. As with a lot of films these days it’s clearly been left open for a sequel so watch this space.

Books

What’s a Girl Gotta Do by Holly Bourne – I wrote a whole post on this book here but it’s so good that I couldn’t not include it in this post. It’s everything you could ask for from a light feminist novel. It’s aimed at a YA audience but it’s well written and covers topics that make it relatable to older readers also. Cannot recommend it enough!

The Mermaid’s Singing by Val McDermid – This is the first book in the Carol and Tony series (the TV show Wire In The Blood was based on these books). Carol is a police officer and Tony is a profiler and they team up to try to solve a case of a serial killer. I read a lot a crime fiction but this is a special series. There are 9 books so far in this series so it will keep me busy for a while.

The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber – This not the kind of book that I would normally pick up but it was my book club book and it was incredible. It’s about a Christian missionary who goes to a settlement on a planet to teach them the Bible (they call it the book of strange new things). He keeps in touch with his wife back on Earth using a bizarre machine and all is not what it seems. The pace of this book is a little slow but it’s worth it.

I only managed 12 books this year but I probably read the equivalent of 12 more in fan fiction and blogs. Hopefully in 2017 I’ll manage a few more.

V ❤

 

3 thoughts on “My Favourite Books & Films of 2016

Leave a Reply

