#Blogmas 16 My Favourite Comfort TV

One of my self care tips is to distract yourself with some funny TV. Since my anxiety has flared up over the past week I’ve been turning to my Now TV and Netflix account for some comforting TV. Here are some of my favourites.

Outnumbered- This BBC sitcom is available on Netflix (and it’s returning to the BBC for a one-off Christmas special this year). It follows the lives of a family  living in London. The children are the real stars of the show – some of their lines have me in stitches even now that I’ve seen all the episodes multiple times.

Family Guy/American Dad – I’ve been watching these on Fox through Now TV as well as on DVD. I’ve loved them since I was at school and there’s something familiar and comforting about them. Anything that makes me laugh is a winner when I’m not feeling well. If you’ve been living under a rock since 1999 and you’re not familiar with Family Guy it’s worth noting that these programmes contain adult humour and are not to everyone’s taste.

The Big Bang Theory – Particularly the episode when Sheldon is ill (Season 1, Ep 11 The Pancake Batter Anomaly) . Whenever I’m ill I love to watch this episode. I’ve been described as being a little like Sheldon because I’m an absolute nightmare when I’m ill or when I’m around people who have recently been ill so it’s extra funny for me. The Big Bang Theory is available on Netflix.

The Simpsons – It’s a familiarity thing again with The Simpsons. My brother and I have watched this together since childhood and if I’m feeling homesick or down this always cheers me up and reminds me of a simpler time. The great thing about The Simpsons is, in the evening, it’s ALWAYS on. I’ve got it playing in another tab as I type this. I’ve been using Now TV to watch Sky 1.

What are your go to comfort TV shows?

V ❤

 

Leave a Reply

