#Blogmas 1 It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas

The first day of Blogmas is upon us. I’ve never done a month of blogging every day but having neglected my blog a bit of late I thought it was the perfect opportunity to give it a bit of a boost and generate some good content.

I will be writing some posts about the normal topics I cover like body positivity, fitness, lifestyle and mental health but throwing in the odd Christmas themed one as well of course. Today I wanted to share with you some of my favourite sights, sounds, smells and tastes at this time of year.

Sights

  • Frosty grass and leaves
  • Candles burning in windows
  • People wrapped up, heads down against the cold wind, scurrying around town. (I don’t know why but I just think there’s something so festive about it and it reminds me of reading Christmas stories as a child)
  • Christmas trees
  • Open log fires roaring
  • Mole’s Christmas (It’s a Christmas episode of a Wind in the Willows TV adaptation. I had it on video as a child and last year discovered it’s on YouTube. You can watch it here)

Sounds

  • Carol singers in town centres
  • Popping of corks in sparkling wine (I can’t lie, this and the sound of rain on umbrellas are  my favourite sounds all year)
  • Crinkling of wrapping paper

Smells

  • Real Christmas trees
  • Cinnamon
  • Candle smoke
  • New book smell (I always get at least one book for Christmas)

Tastes

  • Cinammon (as above)
  • Snow Bites (They are delicious chocolates that Cadbury’s make. To be fair I’ve been eating them since November but as soon as Christmas is over they are gone until next year.)
  • All of the almond and marzipan goodness that’s around at the this time of year
  • Starbucks’ festive hot chocolate
  • Christmas cake
  • ALL OF THE FOOD

So those are a few of my favourite things about the festive season as experienced by my senses. Let me know yours in the comments. 🙂

V ❤

 

6 thoughts on “#Blogmas 1 It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas

Leave a Reply

