What I love about Autumn

Although the weather still hasn’t caught up it would appear autumn is upon us, the leaves are changing and the days are getting darker so it’s a perfect opportunity to reflect on a few of my favourite things I associate with this time of year.

Crunchy leaves and woodland walks – Living in the middle of Aberdeen the last part of this one isn’t as easy as it was growing up in Perthshire but there are still crunchy leaves a-plenty. There’s something childlike about how excited I get marching through a big pile of leaves. (Just don’t remind me of all the beasties hiding in there.)

Soup – I know, how boring, but I LOVE soup. Homemade vegetable broth or pea soup both remind me of being a kid and my mum’s home cooking. It’s the best comfort food. I’m looking forward for frosty days so I can fully indulge.

Hot Chocolate with ALL the trimmings – Speaking of indulging, autumn is the season of hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows. There’s nothing nicer than curling up with a hot chocolate and listening to/watching horrible stormy weather outside.

Candles – See above, curling up in the house with candles burning and a storm raging outside is bliss.

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas – I love that as autumn progresses the excitement about the festive season starts to build. I didn’t love this as much when I worked in retail so for the past couple of years I’ve made an extra effort to absorb the atmosphere and get involved.

Fluffy things – Socks, scarves, cosy jumpers, it’s officially the season of soft, fluffy, comfortable clothing. I’m writing this wearing cosy joggers and socks with snowflakes on them. I’m definitely embracing the season today!

What are your favourite things about autumn?

V ❤

Leave a Reply

