The Struggles of Having a Needy Cat

Some of you may know this already but I foster a 14 year old domestic longhaired cat called Misty and she’s incredibly needy. This isn’t just her being a demanding manipulative cat. Her long term owner died and she’s deaf so she needs constant reassurance. She wants to be able to see and touch me at all times, needless to say she’s hard work. This is of course a humorous post that I think a lot of cat owners will be able to relate to, I wouldn’t change her for the world.

This is Misty with her paw on my shoulder checking that I survived the night. IMG_20160722_203047_1(1).jpg

The biggest struggle is that you can’t do anything on your own. Whether that’s going to the toilet or having a bath, eating dinner or of course, writing blog posts.

Misty’s contribution to this post is  “111 I’~:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::YTtttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt[[[[[[[[[[[[[[[;.7]p—————-0gffffffffff=t333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333-6jmz\ cxxxxxxxxxxc” from walking across and sitting on the keyboard. She also caused all kinds of warnings to pop up on my screen during the writing of this post as she held in function keys. I resorted to placing the laptop on the cushion next to me and typing at a weird ankle purely so that Misty can sit comfortably on my lap.

This is Misty sending a Tweet. Please excuse the messy desk, this photo was just taken in the moment and I thought it would be nice to share. 🙂 IMAG0674_1.jpg

Since getting Misty I don’t think I’ve managed to have a single  full night’s sleep. She must be very concerned for my welfare as she pokes me in the face to make sure I’m still alive every few hours during the night. She can also never decide whether she wants under the bed covers or not so I lie there like an idiot, getting cold, while she pops her head in and out trying to decide. We’re currently trialing Misty not getting in my room through the night and it’s going ok but when she howls in the night sometimes I’m weak and go and get her.

Because Misty is deaf she’s even more vocal than a normal cat and she miaows in my face a lot of the time. It’s cute when we are just chilling and having a cuddle, less so in the middle of the night. Her favourite toys are also the ones that make the most noise. She has hard plastic balls with bells in them that she batters off the skirting boards at all hours. My neighbours must love me.

Being a natural worrier, having a cat has turned me into paranoid new mum type. Every time Misty sneezes, coughs, has a hiccup, hasn’t pooed for a day, I’m convinced that she’s deathly ill. She is old and has some health issues but on the whole she’s fine and I’m worrying irrationally. As I type this she’s shaking and having a little involuntary kick of her back legs. The shaking I’m used to, the back leg thing I’ve never noticed before but she seems calm about it so it’s probably fine. Needless to say I’m worried.

The fact my cat loves me too much is a massive problem in my life. I’m only fostering Misty so she’s not officially mine. The reason I haven’t adopted her is because of her health problems. I’m worried that if she got sick I wouldn’t be able to pay for her medicine etc but obviously I want to keep her. It scares me just how much she loves me though in case I have to move or something and can’t take her with me. My friends always laugh as each day after the cat has kept me awake a lot of the night I ask them “how do you make your cat love you less”. Misty is the epitome of the “needy cat”.

Do any of you have needy pets? Leave your experiences in the comments below. Also if you have any tips for separation at night time I’d be very grateful. We are going to be trying a calming plug in when it arrives.

V ❤

10 thoughts on “The Struggles of Having a Needy Cat

  1. Lexie M says:

    I have two very needy cats l! They are two years old and I’ve had them since they tiny kittens. I think perhaps they were taken from their mum too soon as since day one they like to snuggle up with me and lick my ears. They haven’t grown out of it!! They follow me everywhere, and cry in the night to be let into my room… But, I normally jeep them out of my room at night as otherwise I’d never get any sleep!!! I have scaffolding up at the moment, and I sleep with my window open a fraction… The Cats have taken to climbing up onto it and trying t break into my room this way… I keep being woken up to see little black and white arms poking through the gap in the window… Bless my needy little babies 🙂 X

    Like

  2. Geet singh says:

    I don’t have a cat but I have a pet dog and three puppies. I can totally understand how sometimes they just don’t let you do anything. But at the end of the day we love our pets and before I forget to mention you have a very cute cat.
    Keep up the good work V ❤️

    Like

  3. Shannon (@shannondarko) says:

    I actually found this post so cute! Misty is adorable and it’s a shame that she seems to have been through a lot but it sounds like you’re doing an amazing job of being a cat mama! I’m obsessed with cats but unfortunately can’t have one at the moment because my boyfriend is allergic but we’re trying to find a way around it! I know it seems like a lot of hard work but the selfish part of me would be over the moon if a cat loved me as much as Misty loves you! Hope everything continues to be good for the both of you xx

    Like

    • sirvikalot says:

      Thank you Shannon. I really hope Misty is happy and I’m worrying needlessly. I’m certainly trying my best.
      Sorry to hear you can’t have a kitty. You could just get your boyfriend to stock up on allergy meds. 😂

      Like

  4. The Sunday Mode says:

    haha I love Misty’s contribution to this post! She’s so cute. I had an outdoor cat (who’s passed away now sadly) and she was the opposite of needy so this was actually really interesting to read because it’s like the cat that I never had. My cat was fiercely independent, to the point where I used to call her a little tiger because that’s exactly how she acted which I always thought was so cool!

    http://www.thesundaymode.com

    Like

  5. Stephanie says:

    Wow, and I thought my little Phoebe was needy! Your cat is really cute, and I’m sure over time you’ll be able to work with her to find a system that reassures as well as gives you peace when you sleep. My Phoebe used to cry at the bedroom door night after night, but with my partner constantly getting annoyed at her, he would keep her in the other rooms. She’s grown out of it now, but comes to meow at the door in the mornings when my alarm goes off or one of us talks in bed to the other. I have another cat and she’s largely independent, even though she begs for attention regularly and follows me around the house until she gets it, and she sleeps with us often, usually under the blankets.

    Stephii Mattea xx

    Like

  6. Lizzie says:

    I used to have a needy cat called Stinky (I was about 6 when I named her, sh. I also had another cat called Fatty) who we found left outside somewhere in a plastic bag with 2 other dead kittens. She slept on top of me every night and walked me to the main road for school every day and was always waiting in the same spot when I walked home. The I did work experience at the vet and brought home a kitten who needed 2 hourly feeds overnight. Stinky never let me near her again, and if I tried to pat her she would attack me. Eventually she moved in with my neighbours (her choice, not theirs, but we paid for her keep until she passed away). I used to see her in their driveway, but she never let me close again.

    Misty is very lucky to have someone who is willing to put in the time and effort she needs 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

