Staying Positive While You’re Ill

Anyone who knows me will know that I love a lazy day at home with nothing planned other than catching up on some TV, doing some cleaning and maybe having a hot bath. However 3 days in to a bout of flu and the lazy day at home vibe is rapidly losing its appeal. Aside from briefly sitting in the garden yesterday before it got too hot (this is being written the day after “the hottest day of the year”) I’ve not left the house since Sunday and not seen another person since my groceries were delivered yesterday morning. I tried doing my very easy, Pilates-based physio exercises and got a sweat on. Needless to say I’m not feeling at my best so I thought I’d write this post to perk myself up and to help others who may find themselves in a similar situation.

My number one tip is to be kind to yourself. I’ve got the the flu, I’m not going to be climbing any mountains or running a marathon any time soon so reminding myself of this fact is always a good shout. It’s easy to get frustrated with yourself when you can’t do things that are normally easy. With this bout of illness coming so soon after a little body positivity/recovery crisis I’ve been having lately, being kind to myself is double-y important. Like a lot of people when I’m ill I’m a comfort eater and it’s so easy to become paranoid about bingeing and for doubting thoughts to creep in to your head when you’re home alone all day. We need to remind ourselves that if eating yummy foods makes us feel better on our sick days then that’s all that matters.

It’s so tempting to rush back in to things – DON’T! This morning I was so tempted to go to work. I’d text my boss to tell him I couldn’t go but then I got up and had a bath and convinced myself I felt better (despite nearly being sick in the bath from coughing) and I was going to go in. Thankfully a message from my friend convinced me otherwise as I now sit writing this in a sweaty mess on my yoga mat. Not only will resting up help you get better more quickly and fully, your colleagues/customers/classmates will thank you for not spreading your germs. I learnt the hard way last year when I rushed back to work (and the gym) after a virus and sinus infection only to end up having my whole holiday ruined weeks later by the lingering virus culminating in tonsillitis. It’s not worth it folks, rest up!

If you’re the kind of person who needs to be busy and set goals for yourself every day, you can still do that while you rest, for example yesterday I set myself a goal to drink a certain amount of water and I also sorted my recycling into the correct boxes and did some laundry. All fairly low energy tasks but they made me feel that I’d achieved something for the day. Equally if you’ve got a book you’ve been putting off finishing, a TV show you want to catch up on or a blog post you want to write, you can set these things as targets and do them from the comfort of your bed or sofa.

What kind of things do you do to pass the time while you’re ill? Leave a comment below.

V<3

Leave a Reply

